The 10 Reasons I Won’t Date You: And That’s Why I Won’t Buy You a Drink

Generally speaking I have a rule about buying women drinks – I don’t do it. This isn’t a hard and fast rule like my rule about not dating and it’s actually one that I’ve broken on several occasions, but it is still a rule (in the loosest sense of the word).

Here are the basic caveats for buying girls drinks. I will buy you a drink if you’re my friend and just happen to be female or if you’ve done something particularly impressive like beat me in an Irish car bomb chugging competition. I will also buy you a drink if I’ve asked you out for drinks in lieu of going to dinner or on some other stupid date like the fucking movies. I will also buy you a drink if you’ve done something particularly nice or deserving of a drink (like bought me a drink at a previous time).

Drinks are different from buying a woman dinner in that when I buy a drink I’m paying to get her intoxicated with the goal of loosening her moral rigidity and increasing my odds of getting laid. I still stop short of buying a girl multiple drinks (two is where I typically draw the line) because at that point I might as well just take her on a date.

I have this rule in place for a number of reasons.

First, I know way too many girls who have told me way too many stories about how they go out to bars and get guys to buy them drinks with no intention of doing anything other than paying them enough attention to keep the alcohol flowing. I also know way too many girls who go to bars with no money and no credit card because they just know that guys are going to show up and take care of their drinks for them. I also know way too many girls who complain about how “when a guy buys you a drink he acts like he owns you” and too many girls who have told me too many stories about too many lame guys who buy them drinks at the bar hoping to “get something.”

I refuse to be that guy.

There’s also the matter of my own self worth. How much do I really value myself if I’m willing to pay for your time in drinks? If I really have to pay for your time, I feel like I should get something in return. Continued at  The10ReasonsIWontDateYou.tumblr.com

What do you think?